There is Beauty in Death !

Its fall again and the leaves have turned the beautiful colors of red, orange, yellow, and brown. I love the fall season, its my favorite of all the seasons. As a matter of fact, my header on top of this blog is a fall scene with a bridge. I wish I was there walking in that scene, over that bridge. Ohhh man, I love the fall !!!

Have you ever thought that there would be so much beauty in death? Not me, I always though of death as the end of life. But I was wrong, its the Beginning of Life!!

Lets go back to what I said in the beginning. I said how beautiful the fall leaves were, right? The reason for the beautiful colors of those leaves is because they are in their dying stage. I thought to myself when I was driving one day and looking at the colors, how can there be so much beauty in death.

when we become a child of the living God, we die to our old selves just as those leaves die, and in that death, when we die to our old selves, there is beauty! Its a beautiful thing when we deny (die to) ourselves and follow Christ. The Bible says in Matthew 16:24 “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. See the beauty? When we die to our old selves we become beautiful in Christ. We become a new creation that now has the permission to follow Christ. There is NO better way then to die, and follow Christ!

Now there is a season when those leaves fall off the trees and the tree is bare. It makes me think that there are times when we are bare, when God strips us of our old nature. When He allows trials and tribulation into our lives to build us up to what He needs us to be, and to take us where He needs to take us.

After a season of bareness, the trees produce new leaves, fresh new wonderful leaves. So it is when we die to ourselves, when we let God strip us (like the trees old dying leaves are stripped and fall off). Our old nature falls off of us. But then after that season of dying, He then clothes us with a new life, just like the new leaves that grow on the trees after the long hard winter. (Can you tell I love nature?)

So when you think of death, don’t think of the end of your life, but of a NEW life in Christ, a new life of beauty! Take some time to go for a prayer walk today and stop and look at the beautiful colors on the trees and get in the Word of God.

Get in the Word and Read:
Romans 6 …. 1 Corinthians 15:31 …. 2 Corinthians 5: 14-15 … Romans 12:2

About Joey Basta

My passion is to build you up in all areas of life.
This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There is Beauty in Death !

  1. Laura says:

    I love the way that you used nature to illustrate this message of great encouragement. Dying to self is key and there’s nothing better than losing the old self for the new creation through Christ to emerge. Continue to let God use you! Beautifully written! BE blessed!

Leave a Reply

