Fellowship for The Soul

I am a Christian who LOVES to fellowship. I believe that fellowship with like minded believers is good for the soul. In order to thrive as a disciple of Jesus Christ there are 4 things we must do.

  1. Study The Word of God. (The Bible)
  2. Communicate with our Lord. (Prayer)
  3. Preach the Word Of God. (Evangelize)
  4. Fellowship with other believers.

In this blog I will talk about the 4th thing we must do as Disciples of Jesus Christ, and that is Fellowship.

When you hold back from fellowship, your taking away a blessing from a fellow brother or sister who may need to be built up, encouraged, prayed for, etc. Or even stop yourself from being blessed, built up, encouraged or prayed for.

When we study the word of God, we are fellowshipping with our Lord . When we pray we fellowship with the Lord, and when we fellowship with our brothers and sisters in Christ, we fellowship with the Lord.

“For where two or three are gathered together in My name, I am there in the midst of them.”
-Matthew 18:20 (NKJV)

“Our love to God is measured by our everyday fellowship with others and the love it displays.
-Andrew Murray

There has been a recent season when I wasn’t in much fellowship because I had left the Church I was attending (I am now back there and fellowshipping again). During this time I noticed that I felt disconnected. Disconnected from the Love of other believers that I use to get in my home Church. I felt myself aching for fellowship. I felt my soul longing for fellowship with other believers. Even though I did get the chance to fellowship with an awesome ministry named RAVEN Ministries International, and got a chance to witness on Long Island, in Philadelphia PA and at Mardi Gras in New Orleans. I still needed the fellowship that I got from attending Church. This is a one of the many reason that we need to belong to a local Church. I also long for the fellowship outside the Church setting. But in this busy America, even Christians seem to be to busy to pal around. I always make myself available to fellowship. Its something we must make time for.

Believers need other believers. We are all parts of the body (1 Corinthians 12:12-27). If you lost a limb you would feel lost without that limb, you would feel the need to have that limb back on your body. Well, its the same thing with fellowship. When I am not in fellowship, I feel as if someone ripped off a part of me and I feel as if I am slowly dying as each day goes by without fellowship. I know some of you know what I am talking about. The feeling you get when not having fellowship is Loneliness!!! God has made us with a mechanism to fellowship and does not call us to be out of fellowship and lonely.

So take …. no MAKE some time to get together with some brothers or sisters each week and rest in the fellowship that God has called us to be in with each other.

Hbr 10:24
And let us consider one another in order to stir up love and good works,
Hbr 10:25
not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as is the manner of some, but exhorting one another, and so much the more as you see the Day approaching.
About Joey Basta

My passion is to build you up in all areas of life.
This entry was posted in Encouragement. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fellowship for The Soul

  1. Great word of encouragement. Scripture refers to the church (all believers in Christ) as the “body of Christ,” and shows us how each part of the body needs other parts to survive.
    Besides the standard Sunday worship service (which I have always compared to the “pit stop” in auto racing), we should find other venues for fellowship. It might be brunch or watching a ball game with your brothers in Christ, or it may be a small-group fellowship that encourages building of relationships along with Scripture study and prayer. Just as long as it is you spending time with one or more brothers or sisters in Christ, focusing on Jesus.

  2. Cynthia Melograne says:

    The other thing we have to remember about fellowship is that it builds us up and strengthens our relationship with Christ. When we are going through things we need to have other brothers and sisters in Christ to lean on or else the devil can so easily pick us off and make us believe that we are all alone in this world. When we are in fellowship with our Christian brothers and sisters, the devil cannot pick us off like that because we have the body of Christ behind us to encourage and strengthen us.

Leave a Reply

