A Walk in the wilderness

Below is an article I wrote a few years ago and felt it on my heart to post it in my blog. I hope this encourages someone along their journey as they walk with the Lord !!!

Each day I begin my morning with the thought, “What will today bring?” I am sure most of us think this.

I cannot help but think what paths I will have to walk today. This leads me to the thought that is expressed in this article’s title: each day is like a walk in the wilderness, a walk in the unknown. We never know what each day will bring.

One of my favorite places to visit comes to mind. It is a park out on eastern Long Island. It is all woods and it is very large. There are many trails, many paths that I can choose to walk. Many of the paths are unknown to me, and I do not know where they will lead me.

Life is like this. There are many unknown paths, and we do not know where they will lead us. We should rejoice, though: as Christians we do not have to walk in the wilderness alone. We have Jesus Christ as our trail guide.

Think of this: If you were to go on a major hiking trip to an area or state where you have never been, and there were many paths along the way, most likely you would want and need a trail guide who knows that wilderness inside and out. Before you head out onto those trails, you will have to put your trust in that guide, believing that he will not get you lost and will keep you safe along the journey and get you home safely.

Well, in our walk in the wilderness of life, we have a master trail guide, a guide who knows every area, every inch, of our wilderness. In Him (Jesus Christ) we can and must put our full trust that He will guide us down the right path. We need full trust that He will not get us lost, that He will keep us safe, and that He will guide us home safely to be with our Heavenly Father—but only if we allow and fully trust Him to guide us.

Let’s get real here for a moment. We are not perfect, nor will we ever be in this world. There is only One Who is perfect, and that one is Jesus Christ. This leads me to say this: There will be times, as we follow Jesus, that we will fall short, step off the trail and wander off into the deep dark wooded area. It is our fleshly nature to want to wander off, and it will happen.

However, by the grace and mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ, our Master Trail Guide, we can get right back on that path. He will be waiting patiently for us right where we left Him: waiting for us to trust and follow Him again. He never leaves us nor forsakes us (Heb. 13:5). We are the ones who leave Him to go our own way, and that always gets us lost!

There are also times that He will come looking for you (Luke 15:4-7) when you wander off.

I know this area of wandering off, falling short and not trusting Him all too well. Every time I trust myself to guide me in the wilderness, I get lost. It never fails. When I stop reading God’s Word, praying, and fellowshipping, and try to find my own way, I get lost! Thanks be to our Lord, though, that each day is a new day: a new day to say I will trust and follow Jesus down the trails, through the wilderness and safely home.

Brothers and sisters in Christ, do not give up when it seems like you have fallen off onto the dark path. Look for the Light (Jesus Christ) and He will guide you back. I hope and pray that this has touched your hearts, and that you can put your full trust in Jesus Christ. Take hold of His hand [“For I the Lord your God will hold your right hand, saying to you, ‘Fear not, I will help you'” (Is. 41:13, NKJV)] and let Him guide you along the right path on your walk in the wilderness.

About Joey Basta

My passion is to build you up in all areas of life.
This entry was posted in Encouragement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

