The Care Basket

Prayer BasketHave you heard the saying “Don’t cast all your cares in one basket.” Well I don’t agree wit this saying.

In my years as a growing follower of Jesus Christ I have learned to cast ALL my cares upon Jesus.

It wasn’t always like that. In the very beginning when I first repented and was forgiven (Saved) I used to freak out, panic, go into deep depressions, worry, have fear, and so on about many things in my life.

When your in the beginning stages of  learning about something, you don’t have much knowledge of how to fully apply because you don’t fully know.

As the years have gone on, I’ve learned more and more through others sharing their knowledge but most of all through trials and what what the Word of God says on how to cast all my cares (or anxiety) upon Jesus.

At first I when I was young in the Lord, I would pray and give Him my cares and the next day snatch them back from Him. And of course when I snatched them back, those cares would become heavy on ME again. Then I would have the nerve to complain and say ..”why do I still feel worried, depressed….” I thought the Lord would help me. Well helloooo, He can’t work on something in your life if you haven’t left it with Him to work out.

These days I have grown (but still have a long way) and learned that our Faithful Lord takes pleasure in handling our cares.

These scriptures remind us of the Lords care for us:

  • Psalm 52:22 – Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall.
  • Nahum 1:7 – The LORD is good, a refuge in times of trouble. He cares for those who trust in him.
  • 1 Peter 5:7 – Casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you

These are just a few of many scriptures that prove our Lords Love and care towards us.

I want to share with you my Brother, my Sister in the Lord about how I have learned to give our Lord my worries, fears, sadness, anxieties, depression, even my visions, goals, hopes and dreams.

When I am praying, I envision a Basket, a spiritual prayer basket (something  like the picture at the beginning of this blog). Then I start to pray the needs, the worries, my visions, etc and place them into the basket. When I am done I close the top and pick it up and walk it over to the foot of the Cross or sometimes to the Lords throne at His feet humbly and place it there. Then I walk back from it and say …….

“Lord I leave these things at your feet so that you may go through them one at a time and do Your Will with them, I  fully and truly trust that you will care for these requests, worries, visions in your time, in the way you feel best.”

Then I start to PRAISE the LORD for WHO HE IS, NOT for what he can give me, do for me, fix for me, heal for me or take away from me. Our Lord is NOT a genie in a bottle where we rub and make wishes.

We need to praise Him and Love Him no matter what our situation. And if we do that, He takes Joy in our praises and I believe He gives us favor for our “Grateful No Matter What Attitude.” It may come right away, or it may take a long time, but remember, EVERYTHING is in His hands and in His timing when we truly leave our cares with Him to sort out as He feels fit.

Put your prayers and cares in your very own spiritual prayer basket and fill it with your concerns, worries, vision, etc. and leave it at His feet and Trust that He knows what to do from there. And you will experience the peace & joy that surpasses ALL understanding. Amen?

– This blog was written by Joey Basta, just an ordinary man following an extraordinary God!

Please leave your comments. I would love to hear what you have to add or say about this blog. Thank you for reading Building Others Up Network!




About Joey Basta

My passion is to build you up in all areas of life.
This entry was posted in Encouragement. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Care Basket

  1. Michael Thomson says:

    Joey,
    That was really cool! AMEN! Thanks for sharing with with me. I hope all is going well with you in these tough times we live in. Lyza is doing great and Aydyn is getting bigger each day. We have a new baby on the way and I just started a new job this week (after being unemployed for 2 months) GOD IS AWESOME! Please keep us in your prayers as we prepare our selfs to going out into the mission fields of the Philippines (I pray by the end of next year).
    Take care and God Bless
    Mike

Leave a comment