Bouncing Back

In the past 7 months, from October 2009 to April 2010 was another extremely hard time for me and now my wife Carmin.

We had made some wrong choices in putting ourselves in the hands of some people we shouldn’t have. Under their counsel for marriage.

I won’t go into detail because I don’t want to bad mouth anyone. (The Lord knows who they are and what they did) But this choice put us in a place where we were torn down by words and the way we were treated.

As your brother in Christ, I want to be transparent and real with you. I am having a hard time letting go with what was done to Carmin and I. And I am still struggling with it. I am working on letting go each day. The things that was said plays over and over in my head and I find myself feeling bitter towards the people who tore us down and controlled us. But every day that passes, I am able to forgive a little more each day and let go and let God, and I know I will be delivered from this hurt that I feel.

We came to Florida feeling excited and ready to be discipled. We had that zeal for the Lord. I even had that zeal when I was homeless in NY. But when we came to Florida and put ourselves in a place where we should of never been, our faith was stripped from us leaving us feel dry in our walk with the Lord. We were torn down instead of built up. This even caused Carmin to break off our marriage engagement.

But, with much prayer, listening and waiting, Carmin and I have been reconciled and are now happily married. We were married on May 15th, 2010. With prayer and listening, we also both heard from the Lord that its time to leave the ministry we had belonged to down here. And we are excited about whats ahead for us.

We both realize that its now time to Bounce Back and get on track with the Lord and get revived and get our zeal back that was taken away from us. I know many of you may be feeling that your dry in your walk, or your off the path in one way or another. But that’s OK, you just need to focus on how much the Lord loves you, forgive those who hurt you and get excited about serving the Lord again.

We all deep down inside know that scripture that says the the Lord will NEVER leave you nor forsake you – Deut 31-8 (NIV). There are MANY scriptures telling us of the Lords Love towards us. We need to concentrate on those scriptures and not respond or react on what “man” has done. I am working on this DAILY!

I know there are so many followers of Christ that have been hurt by man and even yes, the Church. I know I have, many times! But who do we serve, man or Jesus? I serve JESUS!! And I know that you serve Jesus also. We need to focus our eyes and our hearts on Jesus and what HE has called every one of His followers to do and keep moving forward. We all have an assignment that He has given us. If you don’t know what that is yet, don’ fret, HE WILL SHOW YOU!

I know that Bouncing Back is not so easy and it takes much effort to pick our heads up and look up towards the Lord. We tend to look down at the ground and carry that pain, that hurt, that sadness. But if we don’t make that effort to lift our heads up and encourage ourselves in the Lord, the enemy will ruin us, he will have a foothold, a doorway to tare us apart. The enemy loves to attack when we are down and have the chains on that keep you from doing God’s will in your life. He will kick us more when we are down, he will take advantage of us while we are down. But Don’t let him attack you, GET UP QUICKLY – Acts 12:7 – And behold, an angel of the Lord stood next to him, and a light shone in the cell. He struck Peter on the side and woke him, saying, “Get up quickly.” And the chains fell off his hands. (ESV)

When you stay in bitterness, worrying, sadness, fear, etc, the people that would be blessed by what you have to offer will be robbed of that blessing that was for them through YOU. – Proverbs 14:10 -The heart knows its own bitterness and no stranger shares its joy. (ESV) You won’t be able to go forth and do Gods work that He has for you. And that’s what the enemy wants.

Carmin and I are being attacked everyday as we are lifting our heads up and moving forward to the call that HE has called us to do. The more we move forward the more he attacks. The enemy hates when we don’t fall for his schemes, when we carry on and fight the good fight –1 Timothy 6:12 – Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called and about which you made the good confession in the presence of many witnesses.(ESV)

In your time of circumstances, go to HIM/Jesus and just Praise Him. Don’t ask Him for anything. Just tell Him how much you Love Him, Adore Him, how Thankful you are, how Grateful you are, etc. Do this everyday without asking for anything, and see how things change, see how your head will be lifted up, see how your zeal will come back, see how the Lord Loves the Praises of His people and see how much JOY it brings the Lord. And in return He will bless you for your Praises.  Psalms 106:1 – Praise the Lord! Oh, give thanks to the Lord, for He is good! For His mercy endures forever. (NKJV)

Don’t let the enemy steal the spring in your step that you once had. Go to the Lord with Praise, Keep your head up, make that effort to move forward and continue to do His will, and He will help you with the process of Bouncing Back! Phillipians 4:13 – I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

  • When I write, I’m not writing at you, I’m writing to you from what the Lord has giving me and what He is dealing with me and teaching me. I write with the hope and prayer that what I write BUILDS YOU UP!

Written By,
Joey Basta
*A Modern Day Knight
*A Servant to the King


About Joey Basta

My passion is to build you up in all areas of life.
This entry was posted in Encouragement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

